Thursday, September 30, 2010

Tina Lawton "Fair and Tender" LP Mono 1967

This is the third of Tina Lawton's three LPs.  Her first LP, self-titled, was released in 1965 and featured earlier in this blog. Tina, a South Australian, was one of Australia's foremost folk singers in the 1960s but tragically died in late 1968. This rip comes from copies of the LP provided by two of our visitors; one a kind lady in Armidale and the other an ex-pat now residing in the UK. I have edited the files to remove unwanted features.  Many thanks to the two of you as this LP has been very hard to obtain.
This is a great album.
The tracks are all from the British Isles and are:-
1. Courting in the Kitchen
2. Lassie wi the Yellow Coatie
3. Stuttering lovers
4. Lady Mary
5. I'll tell my Ma
6. Nut Brown Maiden
7. Butcher Boy
8. Three Lovely Lasses from Banyon
9. Come all Ye Fair and Tender  Ladies
10. Raggle Taggle Gypsies Oh!
11. Greensleeves
12. Coulter's Candy
13 Mary Hamilton

Download with graphics MP3@192-224 VBR

Link failed? Then please leave a comment or contact


  1. Thank you and your contributors very much for this lovely album. I've been looking for this for some time. Now we only need "Singing Bird" to complete the set.

  2. "Singing Bird" a work-in-progress at the moment.

  3. Thanks for this. An important part of our musical heritage. You may be interested in the following article on Simply Australia on Tina Laeton, her life and music:

  4. Many thanks. Look forward to Singing bird.

  5. Just found this site. Thanks for bringing back memories of a misspent youth at Frank Traynors and La Mama. Great to hear these voices again. Also found a site which may be of interest It has a download of the recording of Dick Diamond's 1953 musical play Reedy River as well as full cover notes. Thanks again