Thursday, February 26, 2015

Mulga Bill's Bicycle Band - In Concert Recording ~ Live in Queensland. LP 1973

At the time of recording for this LP, Mulga Bill's Bicycle Band consisted of:-
Tony Britz - banjo, acoustic guitar and vocals
Liz Eager - acoustic and electric flute
Barry Golding - lagerphone, acoustic guitar and vocals
Chris Bettle - acoustic and electric fiddle
Marsh Robinson - double and tea chest bass
Jo Beams - vocals and tambourine
Peter McDonald - electric and acoustic guitars. mouth organ and vocals.

At the time of recording, they were on tour with the Queensland Arts Council following performances in Tasmania, Victoria and New South Wales.

They were a fine group of instrumentalists and their musical backing brings a new perspective to many of these tracks - very refreshing in that respect. I enjoyed the singing but it is noticeable that vocals and backing are sometimes out of sync. To all appearances this is deliberate and provides a rather pleasing contrast. I guess that there is a term for this but I do not know it. Anyway, it is pleasant to see a band not slavishly following the "bush band" stereotype,

I have only lightly edited the music which, incidentally was another rip from Ian of Tasmania - many thanks Ian. There are still some minor glitches which should not be much of a bother. The exception is track one which, every so often, has a very strange glitch which refuses to be eliminated. I am hopeful of obtaining a better copy of that track. On the plus side, it is another rendition of "Waltzing Matilda" so I'm sure we can all survive without another one.

The tracks are:-
1. Waltzing Matilda (Paterson type)
2. Gum Trees by the Roadway (the early Slim Dusty classic)
3. Streets of Forbes
4. Whistling Rufus (instrumental)
5. Maryborough Miner
6. Going Home (Kingston Trio and The Johnstons did great versions of this. This is more in the style of the latter complete with Irish accent - It has been adapted from USA to Tasmanian localities.)
7. Spider from the Gwyder (poem)
8. Overlanders
9. Pub with no Dyke (very funny parody of the Pub with no Beer)
10. Jim Jones (great backing)
11. Drover's Dream
12. Tom Blackman's Waltz (actually a medley of three old favourite dance tunes - see comment for details)

Click on here to go to the download page.

File is 54Mb. MP3 224-256 VBR
 The entire album and graphics are in one compressed file which you will need to decompress to the individual track and graphic files. You may need to obtain decompression software - if so install 7-Zip (free) or one of the commercial offerings e.g WinZip or WinRAR. Any problems - make a comment (anonymous or otherwise) or send me an email -


  1. For anyone interested, the final track, credited as Tom Blackman's Waltz is in fact a medley of 3 fine waltz tunes. Firstly, Believe Me If All Those Endearing Young Charms, followed by A Starry Night for a Ramble, and then Tom Blackman's Waltz (commonly known as The Mudgee Waltz).

    Thanks for posting this album, Mr S., and to Ian for making it available.

    1. Thanks Mr. A. I was wondering what the first part was.