Monday, February 16, 2009

Phyl Lobl "On My Selection" 1977

LP Rip MP3 VBR 192-224
A Paul from Brisbane rip.
Track List
1. Weevils in the Flour
2. No More Boomerang
3. Sometime Loving
4. Not Many Fish in the Harbour Today
5. Factory Lad
6. Norfolk Whalers
7. Girls in our Town
8. In Terms of Time and Place
9. Right of the Line
10. First Fair Wind
11. Digital Clocks and Radios
12. And the Band played Waltzing Matilda

Phyl Lobl has been an active and popular folksinger/songwriter since the late 1960s mainly performing "modern" (non-traditional) folk music. This album is typical of her work at the time (1977). She has a very good website and you can download almost all of her music as 160kbs MP3s and she has all her album covers featured as well and extra information on all tracks. The occasional male singer on this LP is Andy Saunders.
There are some modern Australian folk classics on this LP e.g. Bogle's brilliant "And the Band played Waltzing Matilda", Hudson's "Girls in our Town", "Weevils in the Flour" and "Norfolk Whalers". I prefer her performances on the lesser known tracks. We need to thank Paul from Brisbane for this excellent rip and for the graphics. I have just realised that we now have three Pauls floating throughout this blog so perhaps it's time for a disclaimer. Paul the Stockman, Paul from Brisbane and Paul Lawler are very definitely different persons and not a seriously split personality.

Download with Graphics
From MediaFire

Link failed? Then please leave a comment or contact

1 comment:

  1. Too many Pauls' in this World he thinks, but while they keep coming up with these gems, who cares. I knew the difference though, the Lawler variety I know of well, he is much respected by my Tasmanian musician friends.